About the Rheingau Music Prize

The Rheingau Music Prize has since 1994 been awarded to an already prominent performer, composer, musicologist or musical institution in recognition of their overall contribution to music. In individual cases, too, the prize is also intended as a scholarship for deserving young musicians. The prize-winners are proposed and chosen by an independent jury, whose members, as their remit demands, are high-ranking celebrities actively involved in the contemporary concert scene and possessing extensive knowledge of the international music world. The accolade initiated by the Rheingau Music Festival carries prize-money of € 10,000, provided by Hesse’s Ministry of Science and Culture.

The prize-winners so far

2009 - Christian Gerhaher
2008 - Heinz Holliger
2007 - Windsbacher Knabenchor mit seinem künstlerischen Leiter Karl-Friedrich Beringer / Windsbacher Boys’ Choir with its Artistic Director Karl-Friedrich Beringer
2006 - Hugh Wolff
2005 - Niki Reiser
2004 - Deutsche Gesellschaft für Musikphysiologie und Musikermedizin / German Association for Music Physiology and Musicians’ Medicine
2003 - Peter Greiner
2002 - Michael Quast
2001 - Artemis Quartett / Artemis Quartet
2000 - Helmuth Rilling und die Internationale Bachakademie Stuttgart / Helmuth Rilling and the International Bach Academy in Stuttgart
1999 - Tabea Zimmermann
1998 - Toshio Hosokawa
1997 - Ensemble Recherche / ensemble recherche
1996 - Gidon Kremer
1995 - Alexander L. Ringer
1994 - Volker David Kirchner

The jury

  • Rolf Beck
    Artistic Director of the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival (retired)
  • Walter Fink
    Executive Committee member of the Rheingau Music Festival
  • Dr. Leo-Karl Gerhartz
    Music Programme Director of the Hessian Broadcasting Corporation (retired)
  • Dr. Peter Hanser-Strecker
    Board Chairperson, Schott Music

Main Sponsor:
Official Airline:
Communication Partners: