Rheingau Literaturr Prize

On September 25, the author, Saša Stanišić, born in Bosnia, was awarded the Rheingau Literature Prize 2016 for his narrative volume "Fallensteller". The award, initiated by the Rheingau Literaturfestival, was awarded this year for the twenty-third time.

Saša Stanišić was born in Višegrad in Bosnia-Herzegovina in 1978 and has lived in Germany since 1992. His debut novel "Wie der Soldat das Grammofon repariert" inspired readers and critics alike and was translated into 31 languages. "Vor dem Fest" was a SPIEGEL bestseller and has received numerous prizes including the prestigious Alfred Döblin Prize and the Leipzig Book Fair 2014. Saša Stanišić lives and works in Hamburg.

Rheingau Literature Prize 2016 to Saša Stanišić

from left: Ernst-Udo Grossmann, Prof. Dr. Heiner Boehncke, Saša Stanišić, Michael Herrmann, Staatssekretär Ingmar Jung © Ansgar Klostermann

Jury's assessment

In the narrations of his volume "Fallensteller," the masterpiece of a language virtuoso, he is easily entangled in the pleasure and comedy of the tire, in the adventures of the stranger, in the dreams behind the songs, and in the imminence of life. His melancholic grotesques free themselves from the compulsion to the realism, with the play with illusions, like magical billiard balls, unfold magic and humorous humor.

Rheingau Literature Prize

The Rheingau Literature Prize is endowed with 11,111 euros and 111 bottles of best Rheingau Riesling and honors outstanding German-language prose of the last twelve months. The award, initiated by the Rheingau Literature Festival, was awarded this year for the twenty-third time. The original money prize of 10,000 euros will be donated in equal parts by the Hessian Ministry of Science and the Arts and by the Rheingau Musik Festival e.V. The main sponsor of the Rheingau Literature Festival, Relais + Châteaux Hotel Burg Schwarzenstein, will raise the sum by EUR 1,111. The VDP Rheingau, the Association of German Prädikatsweingüter Rheingau, provides 111 bottles of the best Rheingau wines.

The Jury

  • Prof. Dr. Heiner Boehncke
    Artistic director of the Rheingau literature festival, publicist and literary scientist
  • Dr. Alf Mentzer
    Literary editor hr2-kultur

  • Dr. Viola Bolduan
    head of feuilleton by Wiesbadener Kurier

  • Andreas Platthaus
    head of literature by F.A.Z.

  • Prof. Dr. Wilfried Schoeller
    publicist and literary scientist

The previous laureates

Stefanie Menzinger, „Schlangenbaden“ (1994)
Ulla Berkéwicz, „Mordad“(1995)
Herbert Maurer, „Ein Rabenflug“ (1996)
Thomas Meinecke, „Tomboy“ (1997)
Hella Eckert, „Hanomag“ (1998)
Thomas Lehr, „Nabokovs Katze“ (1999)
Peter Stamm, „Agnes“ und „Blitzeis“ (2000)
Bodo Kirchhoff, „Parlando“ (2001)
Robert Gernhardt, „Im Glück und anderswo“ (2002)
Reinhard Jirgl, „Die Unvollendeten“ (2003)
Ralf Rothmann, „Junges Licht“ (2004)
Gert Loschütz, „Dunkle Gesellschaft“ (2005)
Clemens Meyer, „Als wir träumten“ (2006)
Antje Rávic Strubel, „Kältere Schichten der Luft“ (2007)
Ursula Krechel, „Shanghai fern von wo“ (2008)
Christoph Peters, „Mitsukos Restaurant“ (2009)
Jochen Schimmang, „Das Beste, was wir hatten“ (2010)
Josef Haslinger, „Jáchymov” (2011)
Sten Nadolny, „Weitlings Sommerfrische“ (2012)
Ralph Dutli, „Soutines letzte Fahrt“ (2013)
Stephanie Bart, „Deutscher Meister“ (2014)
Klaus Modick, „Konzert ohne Dichter“ (2015)