Rheingau Music Prize 2019 for The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen and Paavo Järvi

von links: Beate Weiß, Albert Schmitt, Jürgen Winkler, Staatssekretärin Ayse Asar, Dr. Heinz-Dieter Sommer, Paavo Järvi, Matthias Beltinger, Michael Herrmann © RMF / Ansgar Klostermann

The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen and its artistic director Paavo Järvi were awarded the Rheingau Music Prize 2019. The award, initiated by the Rheingau Music Festival, will be presented for the 26th time this year and is endowed with € 10,000. The prize money will be provided by the Hessian Ministry of Science and the Arts.

The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen is a unique phenomenon in the cultural landscape: it fills concert halls all over the world, inspires audiences with its stirring style of music-making, organizes itself democratically and finances itself predominantly on its own. The orchestra was founded in 1980 by music students, and today it is a figurehead: for classical music, for the city of Bremen - but also for entrepreneurial spirit and social commitment. Paavo Järvi and Die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen have made interpretation history with their groundbreaking projects on the symphonies of Beethoven, Schumann and Brahms. In 2016 the ensemble was awarded the title "Orchestra of the Year" by Deutschlandfunk Kultur.

The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen is the first orchestra in residence at the Rheingau Music Festival to present all its abilities in four concerts with music from Bach to Tchaikovsky. The orchestra comes to the festival with outstanding soloists who have long had musical partnerships with the top ensemble from Bremen: The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie will meet the artist in residence Daniil Trifonov (12.7.) at the concert opening. On the second evening of the Residence, Gabriela Montero and Igor Levit will be on stage together with the orchestra (14.8.). Hilary Hahn also plays with the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen (22.8.). In December the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie returns to the festival with Igor Levit. (5.12.)

Jury's assessment

The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen and its artistic director Paavo Järvi are a real phenomenon in the German orchestral and cultural landscape: admired and celebrated worldwide for their artistic achievements, they have realized groundbreaking projects together and have often made interpretation history. Their precision, their energetic and lively music-making are breathtaking and artistic highlights of every concert season. Their innovative spirit is unique from a structural, organisational and social point of view and requires the courage, attitude and commitment of each individual musician and the entire collective. In view of this year's guiding principle COURAGE for the Music Prize 2019, the jury of the Rheingau Music Festival sees no more suitable prizewinners than Die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen and its artistic director Paavo Järvi. The joint achievements of this fruitful collaboration are outstanding and at the same time inspiration and motivation for the Rheingau Music Festival and the entire music industry.

Rheingau Musik Preis

The Rheingau Musik Preis has since 1994 been awarded to an already prominent performer, composer, musicologist or musical institution in recognition of their overall contribution to music. In individual cases, too, the prize is also intended as a scholarship for deserving young musicians.

The award, which was initiated by the Rheingau Musik Festival, is endowed with € 10,000. The prize money is provided by the Hessian Ministry of Science and Art.

The previous laureates

Volker David Kirchner (1994)
Alexander L. Ringer (1995)
Gidon Kremer (1996)
Ensemble Recherche (1997)
Toshio Hosokawa (1998)
Tabea Zimmermann (1999)
Helmuth Rilling und die Internationale Bachakademie Stuttgart (2000)
Artemis Quartett (2001)
Michael Quast (2002)
Peter Greiner (2003)
Deutsche Gesellschaft für Musikphysiologie und Musikermedizin e. V. (2004)
Niki Reiser (2005)
Hugh Wolff (2006)
Windsbacher Knabenchor und Karl-Friedrich Beringer (2007)
Heinz Holliger (2008)
Christian Gerhaher (2009)
Taschenoper Lübeck (2010)
Bidla Buh (2011)
Lautten Compagney und Wolfgang Katschner (2012)
Fazıl Say (2013)
Christoph Eschenbach (2014)
Andreas Scholl (2015)
Walter Renneisen (2016)
Enoch zu Guttenberg and the Chorgemeinschaft Neubeuern (2017)
Yannick Nézet-Séguin (2018)