Rheingau Music Prize 2021 for Nils Landgren

Herbert Blomstedt © Martin U. K.

Nils Landgren is awarded the Rheingau Music Prize 2021. The award, initiated by the Rheingau Music Festival, is being presented for the 28th time this year and is endowed with 10,000 euros. The prize money is provided by the Hessian Ministry for Science and Art.

Jury's assessment

With Nils Landgren we honor one of the most important jazz musicians in Europe and a unique musical personality without comparison. He is not only an excellent and versatile musician, but also a producer, festival director, talent scout, inspirer and above all a cosmopolitan - always driven by an irrepressible passion for what he does. As a busy networker, mentor, teacher and stage partner, he is tirelessly committed to young musicians from all over Europe and is the key figure for many careers. In addition, his project "Funk for Life" together with "Doctors without Borders" supports the musical education of African children and young people. As a trombonist and singer, Nils Landgren has managed to reach a wide audience with versatile, cross-genre and exciting projects and to inspire them for jazz. But not only with his musical skills and his commitment, but especially with his warmth, warmth and openness he manages to touch and enchant people. His music comes from the heart and hits directly into the hearts of his listeners.

Rheingau Musik Preis

The Rheingau Musik Preis has since 1994 been awarded to an already prominent performer, composer, musicologist or musical institution in recognition of their overall contribution to music. In individual cases, too, the prize is also intended as a scholarship for deserving young musicians.

The award, which was initiated by the Rheingau Musik Festival, is endowed with € 10,000. The prize money is provided by the Hessian Ministry of Science and Art.

The previous laureates

Volker David Kirchner (1994)
Alexander L. Ringer (1995)
Gidon Kremer (1996)
Ensemble Recherche (1997)
Toshio Hosokawa (1998)
Tabea Zimmermann (1999)
Helmuth Rilling und die Internationale Bachakademie Stuttgart (2000)
Artemis Quartett (2001)
Michael Quast (2002)
Peter Greiner (2003)
Deutsche Gesellschaft für Musikphysiologie und Musikermedizin e. V. (2004)
Niki Reiser (2005)
Hugh Wolff (2006)
Windsbacher Knabenchor und Karl-Friedrich Beringer (2007)
Heinz Holliger (2008)
Christian Gerhaher (2009)
Taschenoper Lübeck (2010)
Bidla Buh (2011)
Lautten Compagney und Wolfgang Katschner (2012)
Fazıl Say (2013)
Christoph Eschenbach (2014)
Andreas Scholl (2015)
Walter Renneisen (2016)
Enoch zu Guttenberg and the Chorgemeinschaft Neubeuern (2017)
Yannick Nézet-Séguin (2018)
The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen and Paavo Järvi (2019)
Daniel Barenboim and the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra (2020)