St. Stephan, Mainz
Archbishop Willigis did not only found the Mainz Cathedral, but also had the collegiate church St. Stephan built in its dominating position above the town. His romanesque basilica had to be replaced between 1257 and 1338 by its Gothic successor of today.
The hall church with its two choirs shows an extraordinary ground plan and interesting dimensions. Heavily damaged in World War II it has preserved some valuable pieces of art from gothic times, e.g. considerable parts of the choir equipment.The reconstruction of the ruin had to be completed without the vaulting.
The stained glass windows, created by Marc Chagall from 1978 till 1985, correspond with the medieval concept of the colourful lighting effect of the church which culminates in the intensely blue choir windows. The recently renovated cloister with its net vault and pendant keystones dates from 1499 and is praised as one of the most charming and peaceful places in Mainz.
- Please use the public parking garage Kupferbergterrasse 21 and the public parking garage Karstadt.
- From there, it's about 10 minutes to the church on foot.
- Upon arrival, please use parking management system.
- Take A60 in direction Mainz
- Take exit Mainz-Hechtsheim-Ost
- Turn right into L425
- Turn right into Pariser Straße
- Straight ahead on Am Gautor
- Turn right into Stefansberg
- Turn right into Stephansplatz
- Bus line 64, 65, 70 and 92 - bus stop Pfaffengasse
- Tramway 50, 51 and 52 - tram stop Am Gautor